Featured Posts

  • Prev
  • Next

How to Know if Someone Has Blocked You on Gmail Chat

Posted on : 20-09-2009 | By : admin | In : Software & Applications

Tags: , ,

6

Errrr… tch tch tch… what a pity! How did you mess up things my friend? Anyways, not to worry. Consider it as a good lesson in life. Learn to respect your friends; don’t fool around with them, because if you do, you may end up real lonely and sad.

So, coming back to the main topic, what I think is that online chat provides a very limited means of communications. If you get too involved, you might really be giving a hard time to the person at the other end, eating their brains basically. If a detailed discussion is something you want, you need to simply arrange a meeting or visit them at their home or office.

On how to know if someone has blocked you on gmail chat, what happens in most cases is that your worst fears often come true. What is even worse is that gmail chat does not inform the “blocked” person that they have been blocked. So, if you happen to be the “blocked” person, you will never come to know that you have been blocked. You may still go on typing forever, thinking that the person might just be invisible or may receive your chat when they come online.

Something like that could be disastrous, and that’s where you need to know what’s going on. Identify the problem basically and then take remedial action. Here’s how you can do that.

Download and install Pidgin, a chat client that allows you to chat with all your friends (using different chats) in a single window. Using pidgin, you can chat with your friends on other chat networks such as Google chat, MSN, Yahoo and many more. Once installed, you just need to “add” all your various chat accounts that you may have. Configuration guidelines for different chat networks are available on pidgin site, or you can also do a simple Google search.

Once installed, you just have to click “buddies”, mouseover “show” and select “show offline buddies”. Then you have to right-click on the person who you think has blocked you and select “get info”. If you do not see any information like name or image, you can be sure that you have been blocked for good. Pretty sad right?

Guess, that’s all I can help you with. What you do now and how you will get things back to their former status is up to you. I wish you luck though. May you learn your lessons well!

  • shawn brown

    Helpful!!!

  • leees

    what if your other contacts who are online, obviously they didnt block you, you get the info and you see age, name, photo, email.

    i checked the person who i think blocked me, and i dont see anything BUT

    i do see his email and photo.

    did he block me?
    i also blocked him and unblocked him. does that matter?

  • leees

    what if your other contacts who are online, obviously they didnt block you, you get the info and you see age, name, photo, email.

    i checked the person who i think blocked me, and i dont see anything BUT

    i do see his first and last name and photo. his status is “offline” but he used to always be on and now hes never on

    did he block me?
    i also blocked him and unblocked him. does that matter?

  • unknown

    is it really the best way that can do?..coz there’s a person i really missed so much..he’s very important to me…and i can’t take losing him….

  • unknown

    is it ok to know who’s blog is this?

  • Cujo

    You can create another email account, and email him from there. And then tell him how you feel.